Compiled by Terry Kilburn

MK LeMans

July 20, 2006

Mark took part in the Historic LeMans 24-hour Race over the weekend of July 8th & 9th. He says of the experience:

“My 1954 Austin Healey 100S raced originally by Donald Healey himself, ran perfectly and we came ninth out of a grid of 65 with some very fast machinery in it. My co-driver was Max Wakefield who went like a rocket. A top ten finish first time out for the car is an excellent result and I intend to go on developing the Healey and entering it in future events.”

Read More MK LeMans

All The Roadrunning

May 3, 2006

The Mark Knopfler & Emmylou Harris duets album – All The Roadrunning – was released on 24th April, 2006. Mark and Emmylou are undertaking a short tour together to promote the album, details on the tour page.

Chart Entry Positions:

Denmark – No. 1
Switzerland – No. 1
Norway – No. 2
Germany – No. 3
Holland – No. 3
Italy – No. 3
Austria – No. 8
UK – No. 8
Ireland – No. 25
Australia – No. 41

The first single from the album, This Is Us, was released as an iTunes exclusive WORLDWIDE digital download as of the 17th of April.

For track list go to the Discography page.

Read More All The Roadrunning

Private Investigations Compilation

October 22, 2005

Released worldwide on the 7th of November, the compilation CD, The Best of Dire Straits & Mark Knopfler: Private Investigations, entered the UK mid-week album charts at No 10.

The album has been released in three formats, including a special edition two CD pack containing an in-depth booklet with photographs and sleeve notes by Pulitzer Prize winning author, Timothy Ferris. The track list of 22 songs includes All the Roadrunning from the forth-coming Mark Knopfler/Emmylou Harris CD.

Track list: double CD and Special Edition:

CD 1:

  1. Telegraph Road
  2. Sultans of Swing
  3. Love Over Gold
  4. Romeo and Juliet
  5. Tunnel of Love
  6. Private Investigations
  7. So Far Away
  8. Money for Nothing
  9. Brothers in Arms
  10. Walk of Life
  11. Your Latest Trick

CD 2:

  1. Calling Elvis
  2. On Every Street
  3. Going Home: Theme from Local Hero
  4. Darling Pretty
  5. The Long Road
  6. Why Aye Man
  7. Sailing to Philadelphia
  8. What It Is
  9. Trawlerman’s Song
  10. Boom, Like That
  11. All The Roadrunning

Track list: single CD:

  1. Sultans of Swing
  2. Love Over Gold
  3. Romeo and Juliet
  4. Tunnel of Love
  5. Private Investigations
  6. Money For Nothing
  7. Brothers In Arms
  8. Walk of Life
  9. On Every Street
  10. Going Home: Theme from Local Hero
  11. Why Aye Man
  12. Boom, Like That
  13. What It Is
  14. All The Roadrunning

In the USA there will be a double CD release only.

Track list, USA:

CD 1:

  1. Telegraph Road
  2. Sultans of Swing
  3. Love Over Gold
  4. Romeo and Juliet
  5. Tunnel of Love
  6. Skateaway
  7. Private Investigations
  8. So Far Away
  9. Money For Nothing
  10. Walk of Life
  11. Your Latest Trick

CD 2:

  1. Calling Elvis
  2. On Every Street
  3. Going Home: Theme from Local Hero
  4. The Long Road
  5. Why Aye Man
  6. Sailing To Philadelphia
  7. What It Is
  8. The Trawlerman’s Song
  9. Boom, Like That
  10. Brothers In Arms
  11. All The Roadrunning


Read More Private Investigations Compilation

Brothers In Arms – 20th anniversary release

April 6, 2005

On May 9th, 2005, Mercury Records released a special SACD (Super Audio 5.1 surround sound CD) version of the Brothers In Arms album to commemorate the twentieth anniversary of its release in 1985. The 13 times platinum selling album has clocked up over 20 million sales to date and achieved #1 status in a staggering 22 countries. It remains one of the biggest selling albums of all time. (updated)

Read More Brothers In Arms – 20th anniversary release

2nd single from Shangri-La album

March 15, 2005

The second CD single from Mark’s Shangri-La album was The Trawlerman’s Song. It was part of an EP  released in Europe in May 05.

Track list:

  1. The Trawlerman’s Song
  2. Back To Tupelo
  3. Song for Sonny Liston
  4. Boom, Like That
  5. Donegan’s Gone
  6. Stand Up Guy.

Tracks 2 -5 were recorded live during promo radio sessions at Shangri-La Studios. (updated)

Read More 2nd single from Shangri-La album
News: Page 52 of 52