Compiled by Terry Kilburn


October 27, 2006

Mark is featured on the following albums.

Mark and Jools Holland recently recorded a version of the Hank Williams track, You Win Again, to be featured on the upcoming Jools Holland collaboration album Moving Out to the Country. The album will be released through Warners on November 20th. Other artists featured on the album include: Brian Eno, Richard Hawley, Bob Geldof, Lulu, Tom Jones, Marc Almond, India Arie, Paul Carrack, David McAlmont, Ruby Turner, Sam Brown, Dr John, Solomon Burke and Allen Toussaint.

Mark also features on Paul Burch’s new album EAST TO WEST!  For more info go to

Tony Joe White’s latest album, Uncovered, released on the 5th of September, features Mark on the track Not One Bad Thought.

And, finally, Jimmy Buffett’s new album, Take The Weather With You, features a cover of Whoop De Doo from Mark’s Shangri-La CD with Mark on guitar. The album entered the Billboard Country Chart at No. 1 and at No. 4 in the Billboard Top 200 chart. Further info at

Read More Collaborations

Variety Club Award

October 19, 2006

The Variety Club of Great Britian has presented Mark with their Silver Heart Award, the highest accolade the Variety Club can confer on an artist.

The award was presented to Mark at a special tribute lunch held at the Civic Centre in Newcastle-Unpon-Tyne. Around 700 guests attended the event which was MC’d by Jools Holland. Mark was joined by Guy Fletcher on keyboards for a performance of Local Hero.

Read More Variety Club Award

Mark in Maine

September 21, 2006

Mark performed in a benefit concert at the Opera House at Boothbay Harbor on Wednesday, September 20th, accompanied by Guy Fletcher, Richard Bennett and Glen Worf.

Opera House president Steve Malcom shared that “having Mark Knopfler travel to the US to do just this concert in support of the Opera House is simply amazing. We are grateful to him and to a local friend of the Opera House who has made this upcoming evening of music from one of the world’s great guitarists possible.”

All proceeds from this sell out concert are to be used to benefit The Opera House Challenge, a fund-raising effort with a goal of raising $500,000 by the end of September, 2006.

Read More Mark in Maine

Second Single

August 16, 2006

Beachcombing is the second single to be taken from the All The Roadrunning album. It will be a digital only release on iTunes available from the 28th of August.

It has already been added to the BBC Radio 2 playlist and this week is Pick of the Week on David Jensen’s show on the Capital Gold Network.

Read More Second Single

Martin 000-40S

August 2, 2006


Following the success of the Martin HD-40S Mark Knopfler Signature Dreadnought, Mark has again teamed up with the Martin Guitar Company to produce a new model Mark Knopfler Signature acoustic.

The Mark Knopfler 000-40S ‘Ragpicker’s Dream’ Signature Edition boasts many of the elements of the Martin 000 12-fret guitars of the late 1920s including a traditional 000 12-fret body style with long 25.4-inch scale considered by many to be among the most beautiful and best sounding designs Martin has ever made. For more info on this great new acoustic click here to go to the relevant pages of the Martin website.

Read More Martin 000-40S

MK LeMans

July 20, 2006

Mark took part in the Historic LeMans 24-hour Race over the weekend of July 8th & 9th. He says of the experience:

“My 1954 Austin Healey 100S raced originally by Donald Healey himself, ran perfectly and we came ninth out of a grid of 65 with some very fast machinery in it. My co-driver was Max Wakefield who went like a rocket. A top ten finish first time out for the car is an excellent result and I intend to go on developing the Healey and entering it in future events.”

Read More MK LeMans

All The Roadrunning

May 3, 2006

The Mark Knopfler & Emmylou Harris duets album – All The Roadrunning – was released on 24th April, 2006. Mark and Emmylou are undertaking a short tour together to promote the album, details on the tour page.

Chart Entry Positions:

Denmark – No. 1
Switzerland – No. 1
Norway – No. 2
Germany – No. 3
Holland – No. 3
Italy – No. 3
Austria – No. 8
UK – No. 8
Ireland – No. 25
Australia – No. 41

The first single from the album, This Is Us, was released as an iTunes exclusive WORLDWIDE digital download as of the 17th of April.

For track list go to the Discography page.

Read More All The Roadrunning

Private Investigations Compilation

October 22, 2005

Released worldwide on the 7th of November, the compilation CD, The Best of Dire Straits & Mark Knopfler: Private Investigations, entered the UK mid-week album charts at No 10.

The album has been released in three formats, including a special edition two CD pack containing an in-depth booklet with photographs and sleeve notes by Pulitzer Prize winning author, Timothy Ferris. The track list of 22 songs includes All the Roadrunning from the forth-coming Mark Knopfler/Emmylou Harris CD.

Track list: double CD and Special Edition:

CD 1:

  1. Telegraph Road
  2. Sultans of Swing
  3. Love Over Gold
  4. Romeo and Juliet
  5. Tunnel of Love
  6. Private Investigations
  7. So Far Away
  8. Money for Nothing
  9. Brothers in Arms
  10. Walk of Life
  11. Your Latest Trick

CD 2:

  1. Calling Elvis
  2. On Every Street
  3. Going Home: Theme from Local Hero
  4. Darling Pretty
  5. The Long Road
  6. Why Aye Man
  7. Sailing to Philadelphia
  8. What It Is
  9. Trawlerman’s Song
  10. Boom, Like That
  11. All The Roadrunning

Track list: single CD:

  1. Sultans of Swing
  2. Love Over Gold
  3. Romeo and Juliet
  4. Tunnel of Love
  5. Private Investigations
  6. Money For Nothing
  7. Brothers In Arms
  8. Walk of Life
  9. On Every Street
  10. Going Home: Theme from Local Hero
  11. Why Aye Man
  12. Boom, Like That
  13. What It Is
  14. All The Roadrunning

In the USA there will be a double CD release only.

Track list, USA:

CD 1:

  1. Telegraph Road
  2. Sultans of Swing
  3. Love Over Gold
  4. Romeo and Juliet
  5. Tunnel of Love
  6. Skateaway
  7. Private Investigations
  8. So Far Away
  9. Money For Nothing
  10. Walk of Life
  11. Your Latest Trick

CD 2:

  1. Calling Elvis
  2. On Every Street
  3. Going Home: Theme from Local Hero
  4. The Long Road
  5. Why Aye Man
  6. Sailing To Philadelphia
  7. What It Is
  8. The Trawlerman’s Song
  9. Boom, Like That
  10. Brothers In Arms
  11. All The Roadrunning


Read More Private Investigations Compilation

Brothers In Arms – 20th anniversary release

April 6, 2005

On May 9th, 2005, Mercury Records released a special SACD (Super Audio 5.1 surround sound CD) version of the Brothers In Arms album to commemorate the twentieth anniversary of its release in 1985. The 13 times platinum selling album has clocked up over 20 million sales to date and achieved #1 status in a staggering 22 countries. It remains one of the biggest selling albums of all time. (updated)

Read More Brothers In Arms – 20th anniversary release

2nd single from Shangri-La album

March 15, 2005

The second CD single from Mark’s Shangri-La album was The Trawlerman’s Song. It was part of an EP  released in Europe in May 05.

Track list:

  1. The Trawlerman’s Song
  2. Back To Tupelo
  3. Song for Sonny Liston
  4. Boom, Like That
  5. Donegan’s Gone
  6. Stand Up Guy.

Tracks 2 -5 were recorded live during promo radio sessions at Shangri-La Studios. (updated)

Read More 2nd single from Shangri-La album
News: Page 51 of 51