The Ragpicker’s Dream

Album Credits
Mark Knopfler: vocals and guitars
Richard Bennett: guitars
Jim Cox: piano and Hammond organ
Guy Fletcher: keyboards
Glenn Worf: bass
Chad Cromwell: drums

Recorded and mixed by Chuck Ainlay
Second Engineers: John Saylor, Jon Bailey & Jake Jackson
Mastered by Tony Cousins
Producers: Chuck Ainlay & Mark Knopfler

Art Direction: Stephen Walker & Neil Kellerhouse
Design: Neil Kellerhouse
Front cover photo: © Elliott Erwitt/Magnum Photos
Additional photography: Ken Sharp
Train photos by North Bank Fred
The Ragpicker's Dream is Mark's third solo studio album. It features a bonus disc that contains three tracks recorded live at Shepherds Bush Empire, London, UK, (1,2, and 5) and two from Massey Hall, Toronto, ON (3 and 4). The first single from the album was 'Why Aye Man'.

Mercury/Warner Bros. (2002)

  • 1. Why Aye Man
  • 2. Devil Baby
  • 3. Hill Farmer’s Blues
  • 4. A Place Where We Used To Live
  • 5. Quality Shoe
  • 6. Fare Thee Well Northumberland
  • 7. Marbletown
  • 8. You Don’t Know You’re Born
  • 9. Coyote
  • 10. The Ragpicker’s Dream
  • 11. Daddy’s Gone to Knoxville
  • 12. Old Pigweed
Special Edition Bonus Disc
  • 1. Why Aye Man (live)
  • 2. Quality Shoe (live)
  • 3. Sailing to Philadelphia (live)
  • 4. Brothers In Arms (live)
  • 5. Why Aye Man (enhanced video)