Sailing to Philadelphia

Album Credits

Mark Knopfler: vocals and guitars
Richard Bennett: guitars and other stringed things in his flight case
Jim Cox: piano and Hammond organ
Guy Fletcher: keyboards and backing vocals
Glenn Worf: bass
Chad Cromwell: drums

Recorded and mixed by Chuck Ainlay, assisted by Mark Ralston, Jon Bailey, Graham Lewis & Aaron Swihart.
Additional engineering on 'Baloney Again' and 'El Macho' by Chubba Petocz.
Mastered by Denny Purcell at Georgetown Masters, Inc., assisted by Jonathan Russell.
Editing by Eric Conn.

Produced by Chuck Ainlay & Mark Knopfler.

All songs written by Mark Knopfler. Published by straitjacket Songs Ltd./Rondor Music (London) Ltd.

Sandy Choron: art direction
Harry Choron: design
Front cover photograph: ©2000 Jose Molina/Graphistock
Back cover photograph: ©2000 James Gritz/Photonica
Portrait photography: Andrew Williams
Additional photography: ©2000 Ben Mikaelsen

Aubrey Haynie appears courtesy of Sugar Hill Records
Mike Henderson appears courtesy of Dead Reckoning Records
Van Morrison appears courtesy of Exile Productions Ltd.
Chris Rodriguez appears courtesy of World Records
James Taylor appears courtesy of Columbia Records
Glenn Tilbrook appears courtesy of Quixotic Records
Gillian Welch appears courtesy of Almo Sounds Inc.

Mark's second solo album was released in 2000. The UK version of this album is the only one on which 'One More Matinee' appears while 'Do America' doesn't appear on the continental European release.

Mercury/Warner Bros. (2000)

  • 1. What It Is
  • 2. Sailing to Philadelphia
  • 3. Who’s Your Baby Now
  • 4. Baloney Again
  • 5. The Last Laugh
  • 6. Do America
  • 7. El Macho
  • 8. Prairie Wedding
  • 9. Wanderlust
  • 10. Speedway At Nazareth
  • 11. Junkie Doll
  • 12. Silvertown Blues
  • 13. Sands of Nevada
  • 14. One More Matinee